
 
 
The Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA) worked together with the United States 
Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency to develop the eligible 
categories for assistance and the application materials necessary for the Farm Recovery 
Block Grant. 
 
With these parameters in place, GDA conducted the enrollment period from March 18, 
2020, to April 30, 2020, to collect the necessary documentation and application 
materials from producers. GDA’s Review Team processed applications and notified 
applicants of missing information or sought clarification if there was a question about the 
loss information provided. Each application was checked for completeness and eligibility, 
and farm locations and operation information were cross-referenced to prevent ineligible 
claims. 
 
After the enrollment period ended, GDA and USDA worked to develop appropriate 
funding formulas that would allow Georgia to compensate producers for their eligible 
losses while complying with existing federal laws and regulations on direct payments to 
producers. These agreed-upon formulas were used to calculate payments for eligible 
losses. Applicants could receive a payment for all eligible losses up to $900,000 per 
farming operation and per individual. 
 

  Timber Formula 
 
Comprehensive: 
Fair market value of timber pre-storm (minus) fair market value of timber post-storm x 
80 percent payment factor = Comprehensive Loss Payment 
 
Third-Party: 
Eligible Acres x $584.18 x Certified Percent Loss x 90 percent payment factor = 
Third-Party Certification Loss Payment* 
 
Key Factors/Notes: Utilizing the comprehensive data filed during the enrollment 
period, the payment rate for Third-Party Certification is based on the average overall 
Comprehensive Loss rate of $584.18/acre x the certified percent loss (not to exceed 
80 percent) to come up with the Third-Party Certification payment rate of $87.63 to 
$467.34  x 90 percent for a per acre payment rate of $78.86 to $420.61.* 
 
*GDA and USDA executed an amendment to the formal Block Grant Agreement. This 
amendment altered the formulas for Third-Party Timber and Uninsured Infrastructure 
Payments. The formula above represents the updated formula. 
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 Uninsured Infrastructure Formula 
 
Structures:  
Cost of repairs/restoration (minus) any insurance claim reimbursement = net loss  
Net loss x a 50 percent payment factor = Structure Payment   
 
Such payment for all structures cannot exceed a maximum $200,000.* 
 
Irrigation:  
Costs of repairs/restoration (minus) any insurance claim reimbursement = net loss  
Net loss x a 50 percent payment factor = Irrigation Payment.   
 
Payment for all irrigation structures cannot exceed a maximum $200,000.* 
 
* GDA and USDA executed an amendment to the formal Block Grant Agreement. 
This amendment altered the formulas for Third-Party Timber and Uninsured 
Infrastructure Payments. The formula above represents the updated formula. 
 

  Dairy Formula 
 
Conception Losses:  

a.  Breeding age females at the time of the storm - the cows that died in the storm = the 
eligible animals for payment.   

b. The conception rate prior to the storm – the conception rate after the storm = 
reduced conception rate loss (percentage). 

c. The eligible animals for payment (a.) x reduced conception rate loss (percentage) (b.) 
x ($1170 + $661.19) = Conception Loss Payment    
 
Mortality Losses: 
Breeding age females that died in the hurricane x $661.19 = Mortality Loss Payment 
 
Mastitis Treatment: 
Documented mastitis cases in October 2018 – Documented mastitis cases in 
September 2018 x $337.50 = Mastitis Treatment Payment 
 
Milk Production Impacts: 

a.  Pounds of milk produced prior to the hurricane (October-November 2017) divided by 
average cows prior to the hurricane = average production prior to the hurricane    

b.  Pounds of milk produced after the hurricane (October-November 2018) divided by 
average cows after the hurricane = average production after the hurricane 

c. Average production prior to the hurricane (a.) – average production after the 
hurricane (b.) = milk production loss 

d. Milk production loss (c.) x average cows after the hurricane (see cow entry used in b.) 
x $ 0.1337 = Milk Production Loss Payment 
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Key Factors/Notes:  

• $661.19 per cow reflects the 2018 Livestock Indemnity Program national average 
market price for 400-799 pound non-adult beef animals with the 75% factor already 
applied 

• $1,170 is the lost milk production calculation (per cow) as a result of decreased 
conception. 

• USDA February 2019 Milk Production Report places average GA dairy cow annual 
production at around 20,032 pounds of milk or 200.32 cwt. 

• UGA calculated milk price of $17.82/cwt multiplied by 200.32 cwt equals $3,569.70 
• Factored by 32.78% to capture 100 days out of a 305-day lactation cycle the cow is 

left open equals $1,170. 
• $13.37/cwt is 75% of $17.82/cwt price for 2018 
• $337.50 is 75% of $450 case rate for mastitis  

 
 

 Beef Formula 
 
Conception Losses:  

a. Breeding age females at the time of the storm - the cows that died in the storm = the 
eligible animals for payment.   

b. The conception rate prior to the storm – the conception rate after the storm = 
reduced conception rate loss (percentage). 

c. The eligible animals for payment (a.) x reduced conception rate loss (percentage) (b.) 
x $661.19 = Conception Loss Payment    
 
Mortality Losses: 
Breeding age females that died x $661.19 = Mortality Loss Payment  
 
Mortality Loss Payment + Conception Loss Payment = Total Beef Payment 
 
Key Factors/Notes:  

• $661.19 per cow reflects the 2018 Livestock Indemnity Program national average 
market price for 400-799 pound non-adult beef animals with the 75% factor already 
applied 
 
 

 Fruit & Vegetable Formula 
 
Insured Fruit & Vegetable: 
Damaged plasticulture acres x payment rate of $2,071 per acre =Insured plasticulture 
payment 
Damaged bareground acres x payment rate of $360 per acre = Insured bareground 
payment 
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Uninsured Fruit & Vegetable: 
Damaged plasticulture acres x payment rate of $1,933 per acre =Uninsured 
plasticulture payment 
Damaged bareground acres x payment rate of $335 per acre = Uninsured 
bareground payment 
 
Key Factors/Notes: 

• The plasticulture production costs as calculated by UGA Extension resulted in 
$2,761.45 per acre with a 75 percent payment factor applied is $2,071 per acre.  
These costs are to reimburse for production costs associated with removal of plant 
and planting materials, land prep, labor, and new planting materials. 

• The bare-ground production costs as calculated by UGA Extension resulted in 
$479.83 per acre with a 75 percent payment factor applied is $360 per acre.  These 
costs are to reimburse for production costs associated with land structure recovery, 
land prep including mowing and harrowing under damaged plants and cover crop to 
prevent erosion. 

• Producers without Federal Crop Insurance or Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance 
(NAP) coverage are limited by law to only receiving 70 percent of demonstrated 
losses from disaster programs. Therefore, a 70 percent payment factor is applied to 
acreage without Federal Crop Insurance or NAP coverage  

• To be eligible, a producer must have suffered a 15 percent crop loss to qualify for the 
practice reimbursement on those acres damaged. 
 

 Poultry Formula 

Poultry Houses: 
a. Destroyed broiler house: square footage of the broiler house destroyed x $14/square 

foot x 75 percent – property & casualty insurance reimbursement = Destroyed Broiler 
House Payment 

b. Destroyed pullet house: square footage of the pullet house destroyed x $18/square 
foot x 75 percent – property & casualty insurance reimbursement = Destroyed Pullet 
House Payment 

c. Destroyed breeder house: square footage of the breeder house destroyed x 
$21/square foot x 75 percent – property & casualty insurance reimbursement   = 
Destroyed Breeder House Payment 

d. Damaged house (all types): square footage of the damaged house x $5.50/square 
foot x 75 percent – property & casualty insurance reimbursement   = Damaged 
House Payment 
 
Lost Income: 

a. broiler/pullets in a damaged house: square footage of the damaged house x actual 
days without birds not to exceed 90 days x $ .05/square foot x 75 percent = Lost 
Income Payment 

b. broiler/pullets in a destroyed house: square footage of the destroyed house x actual 
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days without birds not to exceed 180 days x $ .05/square foot x 75 percent = Lost 
Income Payment 

c. breeders in a damaged house: square footage of the damaged house x actual days 
without birds not to exceed 90 days x $ .07/square foot x 75 percent = Lost Income 
Payment 

d. breeders in a destroyed house: square footage of the destroyed house x actual days 
without birds not to exceed 180 days x $ .07/square foot x 75 percent = Lost Income 
Payment 
 
Key Factors/Notes: 

• The square footage rates of $14/$18/$21 were established by UGA and industry 
leaders to represent costs of rebuilding destroyed houses 

• The lost income rates of $.05/square foot for broilers/pullets and $.07/square foot for 
breeders were determined by the industry calculation of average grower contracts in 
the hurricane impacted areas. 

• Only houses that had interruption of business—number of days without birds—would 
be eligible for a payment. 
  

 Pecan Formula 
 
Insured Pecan Loss: 
Trees lost divided by 10 trees/acre = acres lost 
Acres lost x $2,708 per acre = Insured Pecan Loss 
 
Uninsured Pecan Loss: 
Trees lost divided by 10 trees/acre = acres lost 
Acres lost x $2,528 per acre = Uninsured Pecan Loss 
 
Contract Grower and Landowner Factors: 

• Applicants who are 100% owner-operators will receive the full portion of their insured 
or uninsured pecan payment. 

• Payment to applicants who are landowners with contract growers and cash rent 
agreements will be factored by 30 percent 

• Payment to applicants who are landowners with contract growers and crop-share 
agreements will be factored by their demonstrated percent interest in the crop 

• Payment to applicants who lease pecans on a cash rent basis will be factored by 70 
percent 

• Payment to applicants who lease pecans on a crop share basis will be factored by 
their demonstrated percent interest in the crop 
 
Insured Pecan Loss x Contract Grower/Landowner Factor = Insured Pecan Payment 
 
Uninsured Pecan Loss x Contract Grower/Landowner Factor = Uninsured Pecan 
Payment 
 
Key Factors/Notes: 
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• 10 trees per acre is the industry average in Georgia 
• Per acre rate calculated the eight-year income loss of $4,259.82 per acre until the 

pecan tree is at full production in the ninth year.  Applying the unharvested payment 
factor of 80 percent for the first 5 years of the growth cycle results in an adjusted 
rate of $3,611.54 further factored by a 75 percent payment factor results in the per 
acre rate of $2,708 per acre.  

• Producers without Federal Crop Insurance or Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance 
(NAP) coverage are limited by law to only receiving 70 percent of demonstrated 
losses from disaster programs. Therefore, a 70 percent payment factor is applied to 
acreage without Federal Crop Insurance or NAP coverage 
 
 
Payment Limits 
 
Payments will be limited by farming operation and by individual to $900,000. This 
means no farming operation may receive more than $900,000 and no individual with 
interest in more than one farming operation may receive more than $900,000 
through their combined shares in multiple farming operations. 


