GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE FUEL & MEASURES DIVISION CAPITOL SQUARE, ATLANTA, GA 30334

APPLICATION FOR SCALE SERVICE AGENCY REGISTRATION

EVERY QUESTION MUST BE ANSWERED IN FULL. PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE . FILE IN DUPLICATE.

1. NAME OF BUSINESS				
2. MAILING ADDRESS				
3. STREET ADDRESS				
4. PHONE NUMBERS: BUSINESS		FAX		
5. CLASS OF WEIGHTS				
6. NAMES OF SERVICEMEN COVER	ED UNDER THIS F	REGISTRAT	ION.	
<u></u>				
CURRENT BOND COMPANY & BOND	NUMBER			
THE APPLICANT AGREES TO COMPLY WITH AND ABI THIS REGISTRATION SO FAR AS THE SAME MAY APPLICATION ARE HEREBY CERTIFIED TO BE TRU APPLICANT.	RELATE TO HIM. STA	TEMENTS MAD	E IN THE FOREGOING	
DATE	SIGNATURE OF	COMPANY	REPRESENTATI	VE
OFFICE USE ONLY				
LICENSE #				4 100

DATE RECEIVED

1/99

Bond no.

REGISTERED SERVICEMAN or SERVICE AGENCY BOND Fuel and Measures Division

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, That we______ as a Principal, and the ______ corporation of ______ as Surety hereby bind ourselves unto the Commissioner of Agriculture of the State of Georgia, for the benefit and use of persons owning weighing and measuring devices in the State of Georgia in the penal sum of one thousand dollars, (\$1,000.00) the payment of which, we hereby bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators, and assigns.

This bond is effective on and after the _____ day of ______ and shall continue in force until canceled.

THE CONDITION OF THIS BOND IS SUCH THAT, WHEREAS, said______ has been granted a registration permit by the Commissioner of Agriculture of the State of Georgia as a "REGISTERED SERVICEMAN."

NOW, THEREFORE, If the principal shall faithfully comply with the regulations governing a Registered Serviceman of Weighing and Measuring devices, as prescribed by the Commissioner of Agriculture, and shall indemnify the Commissioner of Agriculture for the use and benefit of persons, who suffer injury or damages as a result of the negligence, incompetence, or misconduct of a Principal in performing the aforesaid duties of "REGISTERED SERVICEMAN" then this obligation to be void, otherwise, of full force and virtue.

This bond may be canceled at any time by the Surety giving written notice to the Commissioner of Agriculture, State of Georgia, of its intention to cancel this bond and all liability hereunder shall terminate 90 days after the date of receipt of such notice except that the rights of the Obligees shall not be affected by such notice as to any claims arising hereunder, whether presented or not, before the effective date of such cancellation notice.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, We have hereunder set our hands this _____ day of _____ in the year _____.

Principal

Surety

7/01

Georgia Department of Agriculture

19 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr SW . Atlanta, Georgia 30334-4201

SCALE MECHANICS LICENSE APPLICATION (Please print or type)

÷.

SCALE AGENCY (Employer)			
Mailing Address		1	
City, State, Zip		142	
Telephone (Area Code & nur	nber)		
Fax#		é	
APPLICANTS NAME:	180		<i></i>
Telephone (Area Code & Nu	mber)		
BRIEF SUMMARY OF TRAIN	ING/EXPERIENCE IN	SCALE SERVICE	
	<u> </u>	Billion	
		a a construction of the second se	ulla

I hereby certify that I am familiar with Georgia Laws and regulations and technical requirements governing weights & measures. Futhermore, I am physically competent to perform the duties of a scale mechanic, and will, if licensed, conduct such duties in compliance of laws and ethical business standards.

(APPLICANT SIGNATURE)

ATTESTED BY:

1 4

		DATE:	
(Signature of Con	npany Official)	le le	
	ngeding .	5	
(Title)	via		
	1.1.	13	
	2	-1	
	Sec. and	10	
	· ·		
		8	

C

Test C

GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE FUEL & MEASURES DIVISION

SCALE REPAIRMAN TEST

The following test is designed to assure you and The Georgia Department of Agriculture that you are familiar with the laws, rules, and regulations and testing procedures of the State of Georgia. You are urged to use all reference material, including the Georgia Weights and Measures Laws, Rules, Regulations and NIST Handbook 44. The answer sheet will be part of *your permanent record* and should be completed within ten {10} days. A score of 80% must be attained in order to pass the test. Should you not pass, you will be eligible for re-examination in thirty {30} days. No license will be issued until a passing score is attained.

SECTION I

Complete the blanks for the following statements in the appropriate space on the answer sheet.

- 1. Under normal conditions, indicating or recording elements shall not display or record at capacity plus 9d for electronic computing scales or ______ percent capacity for other scales.
- The specifications, tolerances and other technical requirements for all commercial weighing and measuring devices used in the State of Georgia are published in _____.
- 3. Under Normal operating conditions, the maximum load that can be "rezeroed," when either placed on or removed from the platform all at once, shall be: For bench, counter, and livestock scales ______ scale divisions, for all vehicle, axle-load, and railway truck scales ______ scale scale divisions, and for all other scales: ______ scale divisions.
- The installation, major adjustment or repair of a commercial weighing and measuring device must be reported to the Department of Agriculture within _______after such action
- A slotted or "hanger" weight intended for application near the tip of a weighbeam of a scale having a multiple greater than 1 is a{n}_____ weight.

- 6. The installing salesman, serviceman or scale mechanic must report to the Georgia Department of Agriculture on ______ provided by the Department of Agriculture, every weighing or measuring device installed or adjusted, repaired, and returned to service after rejection or condemnation within ______ after such installation, repair, adjustment, or rebuilding.
- 7. The ______or _____ and ______ are equally responsible for the performance of a newly installed weighing device prior to the approval by inspectors of the Weights and Measures Division.
- 8. Georgia Law {O.C.G.A. 10-2-4} addresses the ______ requirements for ______ weighing and measureing devices
- 9. The ______ of _____ may, for good cause, after careful investigation and hearing, suspend or revoke a scale serviceman's Certificate of Registration and/or forfeit their surety bond.

SECTION II: TRUE OR FALSE

Indicate in the space on this sheet if the statements listed below are T or F.

1. ____In NIST Handbook 44, Scale Table 4 addresses minimum test weights and test loads.

2. _____It shall be unlawful for any person to use or possess any incorrect weight or measure for use in commerce.

3. ____An individual or agency registered as Class III, must have a minimum of 10,000 pounds on inspected test weights.

4. ____A checkweighing scale is one used to verify predetermined weight within prescribed limits.

5. _____A service company's test weights must be inspected and tested by the state annually (every 12 months).

6. ____A weighbeam may have one or more bars, equipped with movable poises or means for applying counterpoise weights or both.

7. A decreasing-load test {Automatic indicating scales} shall be conducted with the test load approximately centered on the load receiving element of the scale.

8. ____Servicemen have to renew their registration annually {each year}.

9. _____It shall be unlawful for any person to use or possess any incoorect weright or measure for use in commerce.

10. ____Only a Department Weights and Measures Inspector may break a seal or remove a rejection tag from a device.

11. ____A checkweighing scale is one used to verify the accuracy of similar scales within a designated weight class.

12.____The G-UR.1.1 section of NIST Handbook 44 covers the Installation of Indicating or Recording Elements.

13.____Maintenance tolerance is one-half of acceptance tolerance.

Ę

- 14. ____A decreasing-load test {Automatic indicating scales} shall be conducted with the test load situated to either side corner of the scale platform.
- 15.____On an automatic-indicating scale or balance indicator, provision shall be made to indicate or record an out-of-balance condition on both sides of zero.

Applicant's Name & Address:	Company Name & Address:
Telephone #:	Telephone #:

Section II

ANSWER SHEET: test c

Section I

1.		1
2.		2
3.	a	3
	b	4
	c	5
4.		6
5.		7
6.	a	8
	b	9
7.	2	10
	b	11
	c	12
8.	a	13
	b	14
9.		15
2.7	b	
10	e. a	
10		
	b	

Georgia Department of Agriculture



19 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr SW • Atlanta, Georgia 30334-4201

GEORGIA WEIGHTS AND MEASURES LABORATORY POLICIES CONCERNING TOLERANCE TESTING AND CALIBRATION.

<u>Preparation of equipment prior to submitting for test:</u> All weights should be prepared as indicated below and be ready for testing upon delivery to the laboratory.

<u>Remove decals/stickers form weights:</u> Weights with decals will not be calibrated prior to removal of decals (a fee will be charged for this removal).

<u>Cast Iron Weights:</u> Weights should be wiped clean and all foreign materials removed. If in good condition, with an ample amount of paint, and no rust, leave as is. If rusty, remove rust with a wire brush (do not use a brush attached to a drill) (do not sand blast). If covered with numerous applications of paint, which is beginning to chip, clean with paint remover. After cleaning and drying weights, spray with a thin coat to good quality, quick drying paint (aluminum for customary, gold for metric).

<u>Stainless Steel/Chrome plated/Brass Weights:</u> Weights should be wiped clean with a dry cloth and all foreign materials removed. Some substances may need to be removed with a small amount of acetone or alcohol and wiped again to remove film.

<u>Precision/Analytical Weights:</u> Weights should be cleaned with a dry tissue or chamois. Some substances may need to be removed with a small amount of acetone or alcohol and wiped again to remove film.

When submitting weights for calibration the manufacturer's name and statement of weight densities should be enclosed or provided. If this information is not available, the lab will assume a density for the weights.

NOTE: Precision Weights should be properly handled with forceps or clean gloves and should be kept in a clean/dust free condition in order to maintain integrity and traceability. All mass standards should be kept clean and free of foreign materials in order to maintain integrity and traceability.

<u>APPOINTMENTS</u>: Make an appointment by calling: Kontz Bennett at 229-386-3601/3602. Shipping Address: Weights and Measures Laboratory, 3150 US Hwy 41 S, Tifton, GA 31794. We will no longer accept standards for calibration without an appointment.

SHIPPING: When shipping please include: Name, street address (not P.O. Box), telephone number, contact person, and desired method of return shipment (customer pays shipping chargers). Indicate the class of weights and the type of calibration required.

NCWM Handbook Publications Order Form

	Unit Price		Quantity		Amt. Due
HANDBOOK 44 "Specifications, Tolerances, and Other Technical Requirements for Weigh-	\$46. ^w ea	х			
ing and Measuring Devices", as adopted by the 89th National Conference on					
Weights & Measures (2005 Edition). Handbook 130	\$40.00 ea	x		=	
"Uniform Laws and Regulations in the Areas of Legal Metrology and Engine Fuel Quality", as adopted by the 89th National Conference on Weights &					
Measures (2005 Edition).					
HANDBOOK 133 "Checking the Net Contents of Päckaged Goods," 4th Edition, as adopted by the 89th National Conference on Weights & Measures (2005 Edition).	\$27. ⁰⁰ ea	х		#	
			Subtotal		
* Shipping & Handling U.S 1 Publication - 59.95			S & H*		
2-3 Publications - \$15.95 More than 3 and Outside U.S at cost		то	TAL DUE		

Payment Information

Check Enclosed - made payable to NCWM (US funds only)

MasterCard D VISA D American Exp	oress
----------------------------------	-------

Account No.		Ехр. Date	Complete & Return
Signature			with Payment To:
Name on Card			National Conference on Weights & Measures
Send Publications To:			15245 Shady Grove Road Suite 130 Rockville, MD 20850
Name			
Firm			T (240) 632-9454
Address			F (30 1) 990-9771
City	State	Zip	E ncwm@mgmtsol.com
Country (if other than U.S.)			W www.ncwm.net
Phone	Fax		
Email			

EXTRACT FROM

State of Georgia

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

.



Weights and Measures

Laws and Regulations

:23 226 63 %.»





WEIGHTS AND MEASURES

10-2-1. Definitions.

As used in this chapter and any rules or regulations promulgated pursuant to this chapter, the term:

(1) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture, the primary constitutional officer of the Georgia Department of Agriculture, charged with the responsibility of enforcing weights and measures laws and regulations.

(2) "Correct," as used in connection with weights and measures, means conformance to all applicable requirements of this chapter.

(3) "Measure" means a volume of standard dry or liquid capacity.

(4) "Package" means any commodity put up or packaged in any manner, in advance of sale, in units suitable for either wholesale or retail sale.

(5) "Person" means and includes individuals, partnerships, firms, corporations, companies, societies, and associations.

(6) "Primary standards" means the physical standards of the State of Georgia which serve as the legal reference from which all other standards and weights and measures are derived.

(7) "Sale from bulk" or "bulk sale" means the sale of commodities when the quantity is determined at the time of the sale.

(8) "Secondary standards" means the physical standards which are traceable to the primary standards through comparisons, using acceptable laboratory procedures, and used in the enforcement of weights and measures laws and regulations.

(9) "Weight," as used in connection with any commodity, means net weight.

(10) "Weights and measures" means all weights and measures of every kind, instruments and devices for weighing and measuring, and any appliance and accessories associated with any or all such instruments and devices.

10-2-2. Recognized systems of weights and measures.

The system of-weights and measures in customary use in the United States and the metric system of weights and measures are jointly recognized; and either one, or both, of these systems shall be used for all commercial purposes in the state. The definitions of basic units of weight and measure, the tables of weight and measure, and weights and measures equivalents as published by the National Bureau of Standards are recognized and shall govern weighing and measuring equipment and transactions in the State of Georgia.

10-2-3. Primary standards of weights and measures; prescribing and verifying secondary standards.

Weights and measures that are traceable to the United States prototype standards supplied by the federal government, or approved as being satisfactory by the National Bureau of Standards, shall be the State of Georgia's primary standards of weights and measures and shall be maintained in such calibration as prescribed by the National Bureau of Standards. All secondary standards may be prescribed by the Commissioner

and shall be verified upon their initial receipt, and as often thereafter as deemed necessary, by the Commissioner.

10-2-4. Technical requirements for commercial weighing and measuring devices.

The specifications, tolerances, and other technical requirements for commercial weighing and measuring devices as adopted by the National Conference on Weights and Measures and published in the National Bureau of Standards Handbook 44, entitled "Specifications, Tolerances, and Other Technical Requirements for Commercial Weighing and Measuring Devices," and supplements thereto or revisions thereof, shall apply to commercial weighing and measuring devices in the State of Georgia, except insofar as modified or rejected by rules and regulations.

10-2-5. Powers and duties of Commissioner generally.

The Commissioner shall:

(1) Maintain traceability of the State of Georgia's standards to the National Bureau of Standards;

(2) Enforce this chapter,

(3) Promulgate, adopt, and issue reasonable rules and regulations for the enforcement of this chapter. Such rules and regulations shall have the force and effect of law;

(4) Establish standards of weight, measure, or count and reasonable standards of fill. The Commissioner is authorized to establish standards for the presentation of cost-per-unit information for any packaged commodity;

(5) Grant any exemptions from this chapter or any rules or regulations promulgated pursuant thereto when appropriate to the maintenance of good commercial practices within the state;

(6) Conduct investigations to ensure compliance with this chapter,

(7) Delegate to appropriate personnel any of these responsibilities for the proper administration of his office;

(8) Test the standards of weight and measure used by any inspector of the State of Georgia, adjust where necessary; and approve the same when found to be, or made to be, correct;

(9) Inspect and test weights and measures kept, offered, or exposed for sale;

(10) inspect and test, to ascertain if they are correct, weights and measures commercially used:

(A) In determining the weight, measure, or count of commodities or things sold, or offered or exposed for sale, on the basis of weight, measure, or count; or

(B) In computing the basic charge or payment for services rendered on the basis of weight, measure, or count;

(11) Test all weights and measures used in checking the receipt or disbursement of supplies in every institution for the maintenance of which funds are appropriated by the General Assembly;

(12) Approve for use such weights and measures as he finds to be correct. The Commissioner, in his sole discretion, is authorized to mark approved weights and measures. He shall reject and mark as rejected any weights and measures he finds to be incorrect. Weights and measures that have been rejected may be seized if not corrected within the time specified or if used or disposed of in a manner not specifically authorized.

The Commissioner shall condemn and may seize weights and measures found to be incorrect that are not capable of being made correct;

(13) Employ, in carrying out this Code section, testing, inspection, and sampling procedures which are in accordance with this chapter, rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to this chapter, or procedures designated in Handbooks 130 and 133 of the National Institute of Standards and Technology;

(14) Prescribe, by regulation, the appropriate term or unit of weight or measure to be used whenever he determines in the case of a specific commodity that an existing practice of declaring the quantity by weight, measure, numerical count, or combination thereof does not facilitate value comparisons by consumers or offers an opportunity for consumer confusion;

(15) Establish, by regulation, a schedule of fees to cover the costs of the inspection and certification of weighing and measuring devices, the registration of scale mechanics, the certifying of weights, and scale registration; and

(16) Allow reasonable variations from the stated quantity of contents. Such variations shall include those caused by loss or gain of moisture during the course of good distribution practices or by unavoidable deviations in good manufacturing practices only after the commodity has entered intrastate commerce.

10-2-6. Power of Commissioner to inspect commercial premises and vehicles; stop-use or stop-sale, hold, and removal orders; seizure of illegal weights, measures, or commodities.

When necessary for the enforcement of this chapter or rules or regulations promulgated pursuant to this chapter, the Commissioner is:

(1) Authorized to enter any commercial premises when open for business, except that, in the event such premises are not open to the public, he shall first present his credentials and obtain consent before making entry thereto, unless a search warrant has previously been obtained;

(2) Empowered to issue stop-use, hold, and removal orders with respect to any commercially used weights and measures and stop-sale, hold, and removal orders with respect to any packaged commodities or bulk commodities kept, offered, or exposed for sale;

(3) Empowered to seize, for use as evidence, without formal warrant, any incorrect or unapproved weight, measure, package, or commodity found to be used, retained, offered, or exposed for sale or sold in violation of this chapter or rules or regulations promulgated pursuant thereto;

(4) Empowered to stop any commercial vehicle and, after presentment of his credentials, inspect the contents, require that the person in charge of the vehicle produce any documents in his possession concerning the contents of the vehicle, and require him to proceed with the vehicle to some specified place, which shall not be more than 25 miles distant from the location where the vehicle was stopped, for inspection;

(5) Authorized to investigate and prosecute any person violating this chapter.

10-2-7. Misrepresentation of quantity in selling or buying prohibited.

40-15-2-.03 Weighing and Measuring Devices. Amended.

Persons selling or servicing weighing and measuring devices shall conform to these minimum requirements of regulation:

(a) The specifications, tolerances, and regulations for commercial weighing and measuring devices, together with the amendments thereto, as recommended by the National Conference on Weights and Measures and published in the National Bureau of Standards HANDBOOK 44, as supplemented, shall be the specifications, tolerances and regulations for commercial weighing and measuring devices in the State of Georgia; provided, however, that no provision of the referenced handbook shall take precedence over the laws of the State of Georgia, or any regulation promulgated thereunder.

(b) No new weighing or measuring device, nor any accessory for such device, shall be manufactured for sale, offered for sale, held for sale, or sold for commercial service in the State of Georgia without the prototype of such device or accessory having first been examined and approved by the National Bureau of Standards-National Type Approval Program as in compliance with NBS HANDBOOK 44 and current supplements thereto as adopted, except in the case of in-motion railroad track scales, in which case, must comply with American Railway Engineering Association Standards.

(c) All sales or transfers or relocations of new, used, repaired, reconditioned, or relocated scales used to weigh commercial commodities shall be reported within three (3) working days of the date of sale and installation or relocation, which ever comes later, to the Weights and Measures Division, Georgia Department of Agriculture, Capitol Square, Atlanta, Georgia 30334-2001.

1. If the new or used scale is installed by the buyer, or if the scale is relocated by the owner, the scale shall not be put into service prior to inspection by an inspector of the Weights and Measures Division. The division office should be notified within the required time, on forms provided by the seller of the new scale, or provided, on request, by the division office.

2. If the scale is new, and is installed by the selier, his agents, salesmen, scale servicemen, or other representative, that person making the installation shall notify the division office of the installation and putting into service within the required time.

Authority O.C.G.A. Sec. <u>10-2-5</u> (Ga. L. 1972, p. 654). Administrative History. Original Rule entitled "Stop-Use, Stop-Removal, and Removal Orders" was filed and effective on June 30, 1965. Amended: Rule repealed and a new Rule entitled "Weighing and Measuring Devices" adopted. Filed November 30, 1973; effective December 20, 1973. Amended: Filed March 1, 1984; effective March 21, 1984.

40-15-2-.04 Accessibility to Use of Scales for Package Check-weighing. Amended.

1

When a vendor offers for sale the major portion of his meats and meat products and fresh produce as pre-packaged items as the basis from which the customer's selection for purchases is made:

(a) The vendor shall provide a readily accessible and operable scale on which the customer may check-weigh his purchase selection, or

(b) Upon the request of the customer, the vendor shall weigh the purchase item in the presence of the buyer,

(c) The vendor shall post a legible conversion chart over, or near, the scale to enable the customer to compare weight values if the fractional part of the pound values are in different systems.

Authority O.C.G.A. Sec. <u>10-2-5</u> (Ga. L. 1972, p. 654). Administrative History, Original Rule entitled "Accessibility to Use of Scales for Package Check-weighing" was filed on November 30, 1973; effective December 20, 1973. Amended: Authority Changed. Filed March 1, 1984; effective March 21, 1984.

40-15-2-.05 Registration of Servicemen and Service Agencies for Commercial Weight and Measuring Devices. Amended.

(1) Policy. Registration of either an individual or an agency that shall install, repair, recondition, or test commercial weighing and measuring devices shall be required; and in requiring that registration, the Commissioner of Agriculture does establish, publish and declare that the standards established in Paragraph 40-15-2-.05 (5) of this regulation to be the requirements for all registered individuals and agencies engaged in the business of installing, repairing, reconditioning of weighing and measuring devices in the State of Georgia.

(2) Definitions.

(a) Registered Serviceman. The term "Registered Serviceman" shall be construed to mean any individual who for hire, award, commission, or any other payment of any kind, installs, services, repairs, or reconditions a commercial weighing or measuring device, and who meets the requirements of Paragraph 40-15-2-.05 (5) of this regulation.

(b) Registered Service Agency. The term "Registered Service Agency" shall be construed to mean any agency, firm, company, or corporation which, for hire, award, commission, or any other payment of any kind, installs, services, repairs or reconditions a commercial weighing or measuring device, and which meets the requirements of Paragraph 40-15-2-.05 (5) of these regulations. Under the agency registration, identification of individual servicemen shall not be required, except as hereinafter provided.

(c) Commercial Weighing and Measuring Device. The term "Commercial Weighing and Measuring Device" shall be construed to include any weight or measure or weighing or measuring device commercially used or employed in establishing the size, quantity, extent, area, or measurement of quantities, things, produce or articles for distribution or consumption, purchased, offered, or submitted for sale, hire, or award, or in computing any basic charge or payment for services rendered on the basis of weight or measure, and shall also include any accessory attached to or used in connection with a commercial weighing or measuring device where such accessory is so designed or installed that its operation affects, or may affect, the accuracy of the device.

(3) Reciprocity. The Commissioner may enter into an informal reciprocal agreement with any other state or states that has (or have) similar registration policies. Under such agreement, the registered servicemen and the registered service agencies of the state, party to reciprocal agreement, are granted full reciprocal authority, including reciprocal recognition of certification of standards and testing equipment, in all states party to such agreement.

(4) Registration Renewal. Effective with the next weights and measures field standards inspection and recalibration due, registration renewals for the serviceman and/or service agency shall be completed at the time weights and measures field standards are

submitted to the Georgia Weights and Measures Laboratory for inspection and recalibration. Registration for service persons entering the occupation for the first time shall coincide with the serviceman meeting initially all other requirements of this Regulation.

(5) General Requirements for Registered Servicemen and/or Service Agencies. The Commissioner of Agriculture establishes these requirements to be met initially by the applicant for "Servicemen's Registration." It shall be the prerogative of the Commissioner to change these requirements, after due notice and hearing, to maintain good order in the fulfilling of the duties of his office.

(a) Character and work reference requirements established by the Commissioner of Agriculture shall be met initially by the applicant for his probationary certification of six months.

(b) Evidence of proper equipment, including all weights and/or measurement standards having been inspected and tolerance tested biennially, is a requirement to be met by the applicant for registration.

(c) Compliance with weights and/or measurement standards for the type of certification requested or applied for is mandatory.

(d) An interview of the applicant for registration as a part of the probationary application procedure may be arranged with the Commissioner as a part of, or in lieu of formal examinations for certification.

(e) Each registered serviceman or registered service agency engaged in the repair, service, installation, or reconditioning of or testing of weighing or measuring devices must furnish a surety bond in the amount of One Thousand Dollars (\$1,000), except that all repairmen, operating from the headquarters in which the service agency is located, employed by a service agency may be covered by a single bond.

(f) In subsequent years of certification, the serviceman or service agency must submit all weights and measures to a weights and measures laboratory biennially for inspection and testing. Failure to comply with this requirement will be considered just cause for revocation of the serviceman's or service agency's registration status, after a public hearing.

(g) When a serviceman's or service agency's weights and measures are carried to an out-of-state weights and measures laboratory for inspection, the serviceman or service agency shall be responsible for providing the Director of the Weights and Measures Laboratory a copy of the current certification of all weights and measures used in the repair, service, or testing of weighing and measuring devices within the State of Georgia.

(h) In the event an out-of-state scale serviceman is installing a commercial weighing or measuring device and does not have either (1) a Certificate of Registration, or (2) currently state-calibrated test weights in sufficient amount to perform final adjustments of the device to meet NBS HANDBOOK 44 requirements, he or the company he represents, must engage or employ an in-state registered scale serviceman to perform final adjustments and tests for device conformity with NBS HANDBOOK 44.

(i) Any serviceman or service agency residing or situated at a distance greater than fifty (50) miles from the parent service agency, and servicing the area in which he is situated, shall be considered to be separate, apart, and independent from his home

agency, and must meet all the requirements required of individual or agency registrants, including the inspection of weights and measures and individual or agency registration.

(j) All registered servicemen or service agencies, or companies holding their bond, must, upon the request of the Commissioner, show proof, or provide evidence that he, or his service agency, has sufficient tools and other equipment necessary to render satisfactory service.

(k) Each service agency shall provide twice yearly (January 1 and July 1) a listing of servicemen covered under the agency's registration.

(I) Each registered serviceman must show his registration-identification card, upon request, before installing, adjusting, repairing, or rebuilding any weighing or measuring device.

(m) The installing salesman, serviceman, or scale mechanic, must report, on forms provided by the Commissioner, every commercial weighing or measuring device installed, or adjusted and repaired, and returned to service after rejection or condemnation, within twenty-four hours after such installation, repair, adjustment or rebuilding.

(n) In the installation of new commercial weighing and measuring devices within the jurisdiction of the Georgia Department of Agriculture and the Commissioner, the vendor or the jobber and the installer (who is bonded) shall be held, equally and together, responsible for the performance of the newly-installed weighing device prior to the approval by inspectors of the Weights and Measures Division.

(o) To perform the duties required of a "Registered Serviceman" he may break a seal and/or remove a REJECTION/CONDEMNATION tag placed on a weighing or measuring device by an inspector of the Division of Weights and Measures, only to repair the defective device. When the repaining and/or rebuilding is completed, the serviceman must mail the REJECTION/CONDEMNATION tag, together with his report of putting into service, within the prescribed time, to the Commissioner. Out-of-state servicemen shall not remove a REJECTION/CONDEMNATION tag unless he or his agency is registered with Georgia Commissioner of Agriculture.

(p) Classes of individual Scale Servicemen and Scale Service Agency Registration. A scale serviceman or service agency shall register for and service only those commercial scales and other commercial weighing and measuring devices within the class(es) he is registered to install, service, repair, or recondition. His classification shall be based on: 1. evidence of competence;

working knowledge of weighing and measuring devices;

3. knowledge of applicable Georgia Weights and Measures Laws, Rules, and Regulations, and NBS HANDBOOK 44, and

4. proper and sufficient on-site test weights and other equipment to provide and perform required tests to determine that the device is being properly installed, adjusted, serviced or repaired, and is weighing correctly at the completion of servicing or repair, based on the following classification criteria:

(i) Class 1. An individual or agency registered to install, repair, service, test counter and price-computing scales shall have for each registered serviceman a minimum of (1) thirty-pound weight kit, or the equivalent in assorted and sufficient denominations of weights to test to the capacity of the scale.

(ii) Class II. An individual or agency registered to install, repair, service, test small scales, portable and monoralls, of capacities of up to 1,500 pounds, must have a minimum of 500 pounds of inspected test weights for beam scales, or 1,000 pounds for dial scales.

(iii) Class III. Individuals and agencies registered to install, repair, service, test livestock and medium-range scales, up to a capacity of 10,000 pounds, must have a minimum of 5,000 pounds of inspected test weights for scale repair, servicing, or testing purposes.

(iv) Class IV. Individuals and agencies registered to install, repair, service or recondition heavy-capacity scales, beyond the capacity of 10,000 pounds, must have a minimum of 12,000 pounds of inspected test weights, or one-tenth (1/10) the load capacity of the scales, or sufficient gross weight to test the scale through the first drop-weight range (if the device is equipped with a dial), whichever is the greater amount.

(v) Class V. Shall be limited to those servicemen and service agencies who have 30,000 pounds or more of approved test weights, transported as a single test unit for installing, repairing, servicing, or reconditioning heavy capacity commercial and industrial scales above fifty tons.

(vi) Class VI. Individuals and agencies registered to install, repair, service, or recondition railroad track scales shall have for each test crew, available on site, suitable test equipment of not less than 30,000 pounds, or an amount recommended (proposed) in the National Bureau of Standards HANDBOOK 44, as supplemented, whichever is the greater amount. ADDITIONALLY, the test equipment must have with it, or on the person of the individual assigned to use the test equipment, the most recent sealing certificate showing that the test equipment has been sealed on a master scale within the last twelve calendar months.

(vii) Class VII. Individuals and agencies registered to install, repair, service, or recondition other types of weighing devices not covered by the above six classes shall provide suitable test equipment, or follow acceptable procedures for testing as outlined in NBS HANDBOOK 44, as supplemented.

(6) Each serviceman or service agency shall have a current copy of National Bureau of Standards HANDBOOK 44.

(7) Revocation of Registration. The Commissioner of Agriculture may for good cause, after careful investigation and hearing, suspend or revoke a scale serviceman's (or service agency) Certificate of Registration and/or forfeit his bond for any of the following infractions or violations:

(a) falsifying applications for registration; 👘

(b) failure to comply with NBS HANDBOOK 44 Scale Code, Georgia Weights and Measures Law, or Georgia Weights and Measures Regulations; or,

(c) falsifying Report of Test subsequent to installation, servicing or repair.

Authority O.C.G.A. Sec. <u>10-2-5</u> (Ga. L. 1972, p. 654). Administrative History. Original Rule entitled "Registration of Servicemen and Service Agencies for Commercial Weight and Measuring Devices" was filed on November 30, 1973; effective December 20, 1973. Amended: Filed February 22, 1979; effective March 14, 1979. Amended: Filed March 1, 1984; effective March 21, 1984.

40-15-2-.06 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Liquid Measuring Devices. Amended.

(1) Application. These regulations, including NBS HANDBOOK 44, entitled "Specifications, Tolerances and Other Technical Requirements for Weighing and

يار ۽ 'بعد

Measuring Devices" and more particularly LPG Liquid Measuring Devices Code, shall apply to devices used for the measurement of liquid petroleum gas in the liquid state, whether such devices are installed in a permanent location or mounted on a vehicle. Insofar as they are clearly appropriate, the requirements and provisions of the Regulations including the NBS Code on Cryogenic Liquid Measuring Devices shall apply to the measurement of other liquids that do not remain in a liquid state at atmospheric pressures and temperatures. Other requirements follow which also apply in commercial operations of this equipment.

ī.

(2) Automatic Temperature Compensated Equipment Operations. All wholesale commercial LP gas metering equipment in use in the State of Georgia shall be temperature compensated to 60° Fahrenheit (15° Celsius).

(a) On a device equipped with an automatic temperature compensating mechanism that will indicate or record only in terms of gallons compensated to 60° F, provision shall be made to facilitate the deactivation of the automatic-temperature compensating mechanism for testing purposes so that the meter may indicate, and 'record, if it is equipped to record, in terms of uncompensated volume.

(b) Provision shall be made for applying security seals in such a manner that an automatic temperature-compensating system cannot be disconnected and that no adjustment may be made externally to the system.

(c) Automatic temperature-compensated equipment shall not be deactivated, nor rendered inoperable except for test purposes.

(d) All written invoices shall be based on temperature-compensated measurements.

(e) The sale and/or delivery of liquefied petroleum gas in tanks with capacities of up to and including 100 pound units, when accompanied with a sales ticket giving the net weight of the LP gas in the tank shall be considered as complying with Rule <u>40-1</u> 5-3-.07 as to labeling of the container.

(3) Repair of In-plant Scales. The owner of an LP gas business, or a full-time employee of that business, shall be permitted to install and/or adjust the portable beam scale or the counter-beam scale which is used to establish the fill weight of any LP gas tank having a capacity of up to 100 pounds net weight. Such individual shall not be required to register under provisions of Rule <u>40-15-2-.05</u>, Registration of Servicemen and Service Agencies for Commercial Weighing and Measuring Devices. Such devices installed or adjusted under the conditions must fully comply with all performance requirements of NBS HANDBOOK 44, as supplemented, and all Georgia Department of Agriculture Rules and Regulations as are applicable.

(4) Special Piping Requirements. When a commercial LP gas metering device is mounted on a vehicle, all new or replacement piping shall have as a part of its LP gas circulating system a separate and workable by-pass designed to return to the unit's supply tank any and all LP gas circulated within the system's pipes when its pump is operating and the system's outlet valve is closed. This bypass shall be in addition to the pump's safety by-pass. The system by-pass must be located on the up-steam side of the metering device.

(5) Definitions. The terms defined herein have a special and technical meaning when used in the Rules and Regulations for Liquid Petroleum Gas Liquid Measuring Devices:

RULES

OF GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE FUEL AND MEASURES DIVISION

40-15-2-.10 Weights and Measures Laboratory Calibration Fees.

(1) Authority and Application.

This schedule of fees for calibrations and certifications of standards (a device, item or equipment used to determine mass, volume or length) is pursuant to O.C.G.A. 10-2-5 (15) and shall be assessed for metrology services performed by the Weights and Measures Laboratory of the Georgia Department of Agriculture. The fees are based at \$55.00 per hour for tolerance calibrations and \$65.00 per hour for precision calibrations.

(2) Schedule of Fees:

(a) Mass (Echelon I and II) Precision Calibrations:

2. NBS 547 Class P and ASTM E617 Class 4. All mass standards of the above classes.....\$ 20.00 each

The above calibrations are required for the manufacturer-classified weights. Standards are not adjusted or classified by the laboratory. The above calibrations include a Certificate of Traceability, "As Found" values/corrections and the associated uncertainty.

(b) Mass (Echelon III) Tolerance Calibrations

1. NIST 105-1 Class F, ASTM E617 Classes 5, 6, 7 or NBS Classes C, Q, T:
2 kg (5 lb.) and less......\$ 5.50 each
2 kg (5 lb.), < 20 kg (50 lb.)......\$ 7.50 each
20 kg (50 lb.) up to and including 500 kg (1000 lb)\$ 16.50 each
> 20 kg (1000 lb.). Not to exceed 1000 kg (2000 lb)Quoted
The above calibrations include a Certificate of Traceability. Standards are adjusted (when possible) if out of tolerance and classified. The "As Found/As Left" values/corrections, and the associated uncertainty will be reported upon request.

(c) Volume (based on \$55.00 per hour) LP Gas Provers......Quoted All other volume tests......Quoted Note: LP Gas provers must be presented cleaned and purged. All valves, reflex gauges, lines, hoses and fittings must be in safe condition and properly installed.

lex Rules		
(150 mm)	\$	55.00 each
(450 mm)	\$	85.00 each
(600 mm)	\$	105.00 each
(150 mm). (300 mm). (450 mm). (600 mm). (900 mm).	lex Rules 150 mm)\$ (300 mm)\$ (450 mm)\$ (600 mm)\$ (900 mm)\$ 1000 mm)\$